Owls and gold in the office…

My office is completely “me”. I realize the whole house reflects my great love of brown with baskets, etc. But in my office, there are no compromises – it’s my corner of the house – and I love it in here. (Freddie does, too! But I can share.)

I have slowly been adding pops of gold and bronze in the past year or two – mostly via spray paint. (Of course!) First, there was the owl pencil holder, then an old lamp and picture frame and the footstool…

The other day, I was helping Mom pick out knobs for a table in her breakfast room and I spotted these pewter owl knobs. Owls! They were $3 on sale but they had a pretty cheesy ‘antiqued’ blue finish. Nothing a little spray paint can’t fix!

This had to go… boring hardware.

After surveying my inventory, I decided to use the FolkArt metallic paint that we found in the garage when we bought the house 7 years ago! Haha! I guess I hated to throw away a good can of spray paint? It worked very well, although it came out really thick and briefly clogged up.

My desk had 4 little round knobs. Owls are awesome, but 4 in a row would look silly, so I decided to put the two owls on the middle drawer and keep round knobs on the side drawers. (I painted all 4 gold so the old knobs would match the new ones.)

See, I don’t need fake ‘antiquing’… my desk is has authentic wear and tear! Ignore the scratches and dents, please.

I like how the color of the brassy gold matches from the two owls to the globe. Coincidentally, the style of owl is the same for the knob and my pencil cup. I don’t know it’s originally intended purpose but I think it was a flowerpot. I found it in the seasonal department of Hobby Lobby years ago. It was orange!

This is how it all turned out. I love it! The owls make the desk a bit more fun. This desk is only a few years old, but it gets a lot of use by the kids and me. It’s very strong – I stood on it today to reshuffle the paintings.

Here’s a quick view of the rest of the office:

I am already tired of the crazy fabric I put on the stool and lamp last year but that will be an easy fix!

Leah wants this mini sleeper sofa in her room for guests when she has a friend to sleep over. She may have to fight Freddie for it! Ha! I am rarely envious of people, but I am often envious of Freddie!!! Especially when I am working and he is snoring right by me!!!

Here’s my view from the sofa. This room gets a ton of light so it’s never dark in here – even with chocolate brown walls.

My favorite plant next to my favorite antique.

Speaking of office space, Bryan’s Man Cave is coming along! I got him a new TV this summer and a really cool bookcase that my brother Steve graciously assembled. Once we get in the hardwood floors and the new door, I will share pictures.

Leave a Reply

