St Cecilia

When we bought our house, there was really only one thing I disliked about the house: the granite in the kitchen. I just think the pattern in the granite is busy and would have preferred something less colorful. The problem – then and now – is that granite is expensive to replace and it would feel wasteful to remove it anyway. I feel guilty about not liking it – like someone handed me chocolate cheesecake and I said I would prefer key lime pie.

Chocolate Cheesecake.

The kitchen is almost 10 years old now. It’s holding up very well considering the pets and children running amok around here – but we have some water damage from splashes around the sink and fridge and there are scuffs on the cabinets.

A view with the lights off… Very little natural light!!!

Have you ever taken photos of your house? A photo hides a multitude of sins. I lived in a 100 year old townhouse in England that looked adorable in pictures. It was tired and worn out in real life. Charming, yes – but worn out. Anyway, these iPhone shots of my kitchen don’t show you the wear – or the crumbs – or the sink full of dishes! Ha! Just looking at pictures, I’d think we should leave it alone. But the day is coming that we will need to refresh the cabinets with paint or stain…

A view of the kitchen with the lights on.

This photo makes the counters look almost green. They’re brown and gold – not green at all. The first photo I posted up top is the most accurate. Anyway, I am trying to figure out what will look best for 1-5 years from now when we do this project… because I like to plan ahead.

Check out my board on Pinterest with several kitchens that mixed St Cecilia granite with painted cabinets and tell me what you think!

Leave a Reply

