It’s gonna be a good life…

I am constantly reminding myself to live in today. It never came naturally when I was young – I was always looking ahead with great anticipation to whatever came next: being a teenager, driving, college, grad school, career moves, marriage, babies, etc. I’m still wired to think waaaaaay ahead, but the older I get, it’s a mix of anticipation, excitement and concern. Preparation is a great catharsis, but I need to remind myself daily that, irrespective of my planning, God has us covered.

Living in the moment!

A week or so ago, we all went for a bike ride and I was listening to Michael singing The Black Eyed Peas, “I gotta feeling that tonight’s gonna be a good night…” Since I ceased to be cool sometime in the 90s, I don’t know the lyrics and thought Michael was singing, “It’s gonna be a good life…” and I was reminding myself, yes, it’s gonna be a good life… despite the uncertainty of all the hard stuff. 

I needed to be in the moment. I needed to soak in how sweet it is to ride bikes down the sidewalk listening to Michael’s little voice – without getting too far ahead – without trying to figure out so much.

Gratitude is always in the moment.

Several years ago, a friend told me I am never allowed to complain about my hard day because we live in a pretty house. My initial reaction was, Shopping at Pottery Barn is our trade-off?!? I’ll swap it all for a trailer and a cure for MS!!! But then I understood what she was saying: at least you got the pretty house. Some folks are still trying to figure out what they got that’s good to go along with what they got that’s not. Don’t start thinking your life is hard. My friend helped care for a family member who died from ALS. She knows that life is both daunting and beautiful.

Kids have this figured out. They’re great at being right in the moment.

2 thoughts on “It’s gonna be a good life…

  1. I remember a facebook post I made a few years ago. I was “preaching to myself”. I said, “whenever you get to thinking about how terrible your life is; Stop, be honest with yourself and think of all the people in this world that would trade places with you in a heartbeat”. It’s tough sometimes to compare your own plight with a war-torn refugee from Sierra-Leon; or an impoverished family in Cambodia whose little children are forced to work 15 hours a day – – – but if that’s what it takes for you to realize that EVERYTHING is relative; that soft mattress and downy pillow that you lay your head down on, in a Air-conditioned house, with a full belly of nutritious food becomes all the more comfortable. And you become all the more grateful.

    Like

    • I remember you posting that – and you’re right – and I don’t think we have to go any farther than 10 minutes out into the country or into the inner city to find several candidates.

      Like

Leave a Reply

