Christmas wrap-up…

I meant to post a Christmas wrap-up days ago. Once a new year begins, I like to focus on all things new! But the entire month of December was busy – and fast. Losing a week to Bryan’s MS treatment and my crud compressed our Christmas timeline so I compensated by keeping it simple. We didn’t go crazy with anything. Shopping was mostly online. Decorating was whatever we could get done in one afternoon – and the kids did our outside lights. We didn’t do everything I had hoped but Leah baked us Christmas cookies, the kids and I went to The Nutcracker with Nana, we hosted family several times, cooked a lot, read a little, watched several documentaries and went to the movies twice. Oh, and Santa came! So I’m calling it a successful Christmas season… 🙂

Leah and her daddy have an annual tradition of going to The Nutcracker ballet together, but since he was quarantined, I took both kids and Nana. We loved it! Michael had never seen a ballet and was pleasantly surprised at how much he liked it. A friend of mine who is a dancer took the kids backstage afterwards.

Bryan and I took the kids to Mellow Mushroom to celebrate the anniversary of our first date…

I got so much quality time with my babies over the break – although Michael has enjoyed giving me a hard time saying we just don’t get enough time together!!!

Leah and Michael sang with our children’s choir in the Christmas program – a first!

The first week of choir practice Michael said skeptically, “I don’t recall discussing this.” Dude – we didn’t! I was so proud of both kids for jumping in and even taking a speaking part! They did great!

All four grandparents were there to hear them sing as well as Uncle Hal and Aunt Glenna, Uncle Stevie and our friends Dawn and Andrew!

Two very excited kids on Christmas Eve!

Bryan’s family came to our house for a Christmas dinner on Saturday and of course my father-in-law brought all the fixings for oysters since that is THE annual tradition for the family! I graciously let him and Bryan eat all mine. Ha!!!

Claire’s vibe here pretty well sums up the week after Christmas at our house. It’s all good.

Our friend Dawn told Leah that she likes Bryan’s beard. Leah said, “Well, it began as ‘No Shave November’ and,” with a big sigh, “it turned into ‘No Shave December’.” Folks, it is January!!!

Leave a Reply

