Homemade Tortellini Soup in 15-Minutes

Sunday night, Bryan looked up from some ball game on TV and said, “Hey, what’s for dinner?” And I said, “Hmmmm… what IS for dinner?” It’s practically an existential question in our house. I really do like to cook, but I do not like to ‘meal plan’ or grocery shop which presents challenges at dinner time.

Bryan said he wanted soup. I knew we had fresh tortellini so I googled “tortellini soup recipes” and read through 3-4, all of which required ingredients we didn’t have on hand. I needed to get creative with what we had in the pantry and I’d gotten some ideas from the recipes I saw… I didn’t have any cream, but I did have Cream of Chicken Soup, etc.

This tortellini soup that was so good that we ate it all up – and I made another pot the very next night! Warm soup on a cold night is hard to beat! It’s really flavorful and creamy without being heavy.

You are going to have to trust me. Here’s how you make it…

Homemade Tortellini Soup in 15-Minutes

  • 1 can cream of chicken soup
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 box chicken broth
  • 1/2 jar of tomato basil pasta sauce
  • 10 oz. fresh cheese tortellini

Whisk first four ingredients together in a soup pot over high heat. Bring to a boil, add tortellini, lower temperature to medium for a low boil and cook for 9-10 minutes. Makes 4 big bowls.

You cannot mess this up.

I do think it matters that I used a good tomato basil sauce. The basil and other herbs added great flavor to the broth. I used half of a 20 oz. pack of Buitoni Three Cheese Tortellini and threw away the package before deciding to take a picture, so here’s what to look for in the refrigerated pasta section of your store…

BUITONI®  Three Cheese Tortellini

PHOTO CREDIT

My brother Steve came over the second night I made this soup. He’s a very good cook and balked at my recipe. Soup in 15 minutes? With what? He rolled his eyes…

In a “Hey Mikey! He likes it!” moment, Steve tasted it and had to admit it’s really good!

Leave a Reply

