The Ancestry Wall

A few years ago, I got the idea of creating a gallery wall with old photos of Leah and Michael’s grandparents, great-grandparents and even great-great grandparents. I slowly began collecting old photos and various frames, referencing gallery walls on Pinterest for inspiration. Originally, all of this was going on a blank vertical space at the end of our staircase until I realized… it wouldn’t fit!

Scratch Plan A.

The professionals suggest that you lay it out ahead of time and create a paper template to stick to the wall – and use laser pointers for accurate alignment. I kept shuffling frames in the den floor over the course of a couple of weeks. (Silly, I know.) Michael walked in and said, “Mommy, why are you thinking about this so much? Just put them on the wall.”

Wisdom!

So I walked over to the Plan B wall – the hallway off the kitchen and hung the picture of my grandfather with his teammates on the cotton mill village men’s baseball team. Then I picked up frames and hung them up one by one, quickly and without over-thinking it.

I love how it turned out!

There’s a story behind every picture and now the kids will have a visual to go along with stories about their great-grandfather Everett who was one of 9 boys, and their great-grandfather Harold who went to work in a cotton mill when he was 9 years old…

The wall also means my great-aunt Mattie and her husband Lonnie will be remembered even though they never had children to pass along their names or DNA.

I am in love with this wall.

2 thoughts on “The Ancestry Wall

  1. Kim, you know the Mormons really push the ancestry wall of pictures. There were several Mormons on the Family and ______ faculty and I frequently went to conferences they led when I was with ACS. So, what you have done was one of their key ingredients for a stable child. And who can quarrel with their homes – if there is only one wife. I know your parents and relatives appreciate what you’ve done and Michael and Leah will also, if not now, later. Our kids are so into their heritage at this point.

    Like

Leave a Reply

