Closet Makeover Reveal!

You may recall that my resolution for 2015 was to GET ORGANIZED. One of the first projects I tackled in January was our master closets, but then a pipe burst in the bathroom wall in May and we spent 8 weeks getting everything repaired. 😦

So, closet - beforeI am finally ready to reveal our closet makeover!

First, I will remind you what it looked like before… I had a wire closet system and I was using plastic shoe racks which regularly fell over. I had wall hooks for necklaces and hung my bags on hangers. Scarves were tucked in a basket. It was ok – not great.

The goal was to make it more functional and better looking. I wanted a mirror to check out my outfits from head to toe and a better storage solution for shoes and bags.

Everything in my closet is clothing I really do wear. Doing an annual purge means I don’t need tons of hanging space.

I group my clothing by type and by color to make it easier to put together an outfit in the morning. Since I am not a professional blogger (just a professional mom) I didn’t stop to make the hangers evenly spaced and photo-ready! Ha!

All my bags are on big brass hooks so I can see them.

I asked Alfonso to make the shelves deep enough for my ladies size 12 shoes! He included space for more boots than I own – I should have been specific about the spacing, but no biggie. I have 20 pair of shoes on the shelves and my flip-flops and tennis shoes are in a big basket. The two shelves you don’t see are my high heels.

I found a mirror at TJMaxx so I can see my whole outfit. #awkwardselfie

The bird hooks are from Hobby Lobby (spray painted gold, of course) and the vintage brass hooks are an estate sale find.

The shelves have space for baskets (socks, underwear, scarves) and this glass bowl where I keep my jewelry. I wear costume jewelry so it’s fine to dump it in a bowl.

The up-side to that pipe bursting in the bathroom is that we decided to replace the wet carpet with hardwood floors in our bedroom!

I have been an organizing fool this summer… There’s more to come! Both kids’ rooms are de-cluttered, newly organized and slightly redecorated just in time for school to start next week!!! 🙂

One thought on “Closet Makeover Reveal!

Leave a Reply

