Upcycled Planters + Wilson

I’ve added two new plants that I have to show you… Both are planted in “pots” that didn’t begin life as a flowerpot.

We got this coffee crock as a wedding gift and somewhere along the way we broke the lid. I have used it as a flowerpot for years.

I took clippings from the huge Philodendron in my office to create this “new” plant. Philodendron are pretty easy to propagate: just clip the vine, tuck the stem into the dirt, and add a lot of water! They’re easy to grow, too – happy with anything from indirect sunshine to a fluorescent light!

OK, now brace yourself for the cutest plant and pot ever…

Isn’t this little guy adorable?!? He used to be a plug-in scented wax warmer… but this summer, I knocked him over and broke the top. He was too cute to throw away, so I removed the electrical cord and used him as a container for drinking straws before deciding the right plant might look like feather plumes… and a star was born.

He reminds me of Wilson-the-volleyball from the movie Cast Away. Forget Gone with the Wind and Terms of Endearment, I sobbed when Wilson floated off to sea… like for-real gasping, ugly crying! Wiiiilllsooooooooon! Gosh, that movie was good. Anyway, I think I’ll call this guy Wilson-the-owl. Wilson will probably live on the kitchen table because he doesn’t need much light.

Leave a Reply

